A personal letter to our three winners

Dear Deah, Yusor and Razan,

I have never met you before. I have never been in your company. I have never had the opportunity to say that I am your acquaintance, your friend. I have never been positively affected by your kindness, your speech, your being.

I will never meet you. I will never be in your company. I will never have the opportunity to say that I am your acquaintance, your friend. I will never see your kindness, hear your speech, and appreciate your being.

Until Jannah (inshallah)

Ya Allah, forgive our three winners and accept them among your noble martyrs. Ease their time in their temporary homes, the grave and raise them to the highest level of Paradise when that time comes.

Ya Allah, fill their graves with Your noor (light) and let them rest in absolute tranquillity.

Ya Allah, put the highest level of patience in the hearts of the parents, families and friends. Support them in this extremely hard time; show them Your mercy and Your wisdom. Cool their grief with sabr (patience) and allow them to increase their ibadah (worship). May you make this test be the reason they enter Your Paradise.

Ya Allah, when it comes to my tests, big or small, give me the strength to deal with them the way it is most pleasing to You. And whilst I am on this beautiful earth of Yours, allow it in my Qadr (destiny) to be among those who do nothing but to please You. Allow me to be among those who are preparing for the hereafter.

Allow me to be those that you consider a friend.

Deah, Yusor and Razan, I will never have the pleasure to know you in this life but I will see you in the next. Your deaths will not be in vain. We shall continue your legacy in whatever way possible.

Until next time…

Note: I wanted to write a blog post about the hypocrisy of the media and the way people have responded to this brutal crime but I believe there are plenty of those available on the internet and have been written really well. Instead, I wanted to write a blog post that was personal.

Leave a Reply

