10 Things I learned from Marrakech

1

 

1. Humble yourself | It doesn’t matter if you head out of the door and you realise that your phone battery is too low for you to engage in anything more than a quick call or text if needs be or you open your fridge and there isn’t something you fancy to eat. It doesn’t matter. If it doesn’t happen today, it will happen tomorrow. Living in the West (England in my case), it is so easy to fall into the thought patterns of someone suffering from “first world problems”. Marrakech taught me to appreciate everything. I saw with my own eyes people looking so happy when they received the smallest things. I should have the same happiness in my life   greater happiness in my life. Most people in Marrakech don’t have a fraction of what I have but I still find the opportunity to complain about a lot of things. Things that a lot of people would feel blessed to be able to complain about. So humble yourself and count your blessings.

2. People watching is therapeutic | Think of how many people you encounter every day. Think of their faces, clothes, behaviour. Quite hard, isn’t it? With the rush of life, it is easy to forget a face as soon as you glance at it. But just as easy it is to forget their faces, it is easy to forget that every person has a story. Just like they are an extra in our lives, merely brushing past us as we walk to catch the train or bus, you too are an extra. Have you ever stopped and just watched people go by? Wondered about their stories, fears, struggles, achievements? There are 7 billion of us and sometimes I liked to sit back in Marrakech and soak it all up. I wondered what their lives were like? Did any of them have a similar story to me? Nevertheless, it is interesting to remember that the world doesn’t revolve around you. It has 7 billion other people to think about? That gives me comfort.

3. Nature | Leave the city behind and discover what little remains untouched on the Earth. Surround yourself with the fresh air, the trees, the hills, the sea. Anything. Just leave the city.

4. Photos…but not too many | Take photos of experiences, of things you love, of things you want to remember but don’t take too many. Too many photo taking can be counter productive. Sometimes, you just want to live through an experience without the pressure of what’s the best angles.

3

2

4

5. Travel | I am now thirsty for travelling. For seeing things that will make me think twice. I want to interact with people living several time zones away from me. I want them to teach me about their way of living and I want to do the same.

6. Don’t overthink | I overthink almost everything so naturally I am someone who likes to avoid situations that will me to embarrassment (or second-hand embarrassment). But once in a while, get involved. Honestly, nobody will care and if they do, well then that’s up to them to lose sleep over.

7. Tea may fix it | Tea is everyone’s favourite drink in Morocco and I have also fallen in the trap of loving Moroccan tea. So when you feel a bit down and you need to de-stress, have a cup of tea. Unfortunately, it may not always be Moroccan tea but any tea is just find. You may do this in conjunction with point 2.

8. People are beautiful | The connections we can make with people are amazing. Especially the Marrakech locals. But even in your cities and town, attempt to make new friends. Have faith in people again. I know I have a hard time in trusting people and maintaining friendships except for a close few but my trip to Marrakech has ignited a drive to meet others. To find out about their life and see if I can add meaning to it. Or is they can add meaning to mine. After all, friendship should be a two way street, right?

9. Patience is a virtue | This point is a small extension to point 1. Things will happen when they are meant to happen and the timing is always almost perfect. I am a firm believer of that and this Marrakech reassured me. People are so patient there. Some many do not know how much they’ll earn that day. But they are patient and they have trust in God. I ought to do the same. What’s meant to be will happen. And if it doesn’t, then it wasn’t meant to be.

10. Culture is a beautiful thing | You will find beautiful things in each and every culture. Learn about them, understand why things are like that. Trust me, it’s a wonderful thing to be more knowledgeable.

5

 

I’ll make another post soon covering more practical things about Marrakech e.g. what to expect, my experiences, dos and dont’s as well as some lovely photos. In the meantime, have a great, productive day xoxo.

2 thoughts on “10 Things I learned from Marrakech

Leave a Reply

